Karate in the Olympics!! Olympics

2018 Karate World Championships

Newly Elected Karate South Africa Executive Committee


Karate South Africa was restructured by SASCOC 3 years ago with Hanshi Sonny Pillay as Captain of the Ship with a brand new crew.

In 3 years this committee has presented athletes with so many opportunities to develop and excel.

In spite of many challenges this organisation had to face, athletes received opportunities and recognition that enabled them to participate at the highest level this sport has to offer.

From the North West Province we would like to give tribute to the members of this organisation for all the "behind the scenes" fighting they have done for each and every athlete in this country.

Thank you for your service!

On 7 May 2016 Provincial Karate Presidents and Representatives from all over South Africa gathered at the offices of the Gauteng Sport Federation for Elections.

Congratulations to all re-elected members as well as newly elected members of this Committee.

The most important project that this new committee will conduct is transformation and development of athletes in rural and disadvantaged communities.

The North West Province will submit our transformation and development action plan to KSA for approval and thereafter to the NW Department of Sport for compliance and implementation.

Chaired by Mr. Hendriks from the GSF the following members were elected:

In Photo:

Front fltr:
Jonathan Duncan - Additional Member PR and Marketing
Mary-Ann Landers - Secretary General
Albert Marais - Vice President
Mr. Hendriks - President Gauteng Sport Federation
Sonny Pillay - President
Million Matsumbika - UFAK Vice President
Shani Lakram - Treasurer
Themba Ndlovu - Technical Convener & President of Mpumalanga

Back fltr:
Sydney Hoaeane - Additional Member Transformation and Development
Juanita van der Walt - President North-West Province
Dolf Schutte - President Freestate
Ben Mare - President KZN
Kruben Pillay - President Gauteng
Weben - Gauteng Representative
Gilbert Isaka - President Northern Cape